The Search Committee met Thursday, November 16, with Circuit Visitor Rev. Lee Hovel.  We reviewed several documents:  Hope’s Constitution and Bylaws, Kansas District checklist for calling a pastor, results of Hope’s Congregational Self-Study and small group discussions and a potential timeline for the call process.  District President Rev. Peter Lange provided the following call list (in alphabetical order):

  • Rev. Christopher Ascher, Sioux Falls, SD
  • Rev. Michael Brown, Lincoln, NE
  • Rev. Jonathan Conner, Manning, IA
  • Rev. Mark T. Dahn, Tyler, TX
  • Rev. Paul Dare, St. Cloud, MN
  • Rev. Daniel S. Johnson, Marshalltown, IA
  • Rev. James (Andy) Keltner, Louisburg, KS
  • Rev. Chad Lueck, Bloomington, IL
  • Rev. Marcus Mackay, Hastings, NE
  • Rev. Michael Penikis, Shawnee, KS
  • Rev. Wayne (Rick) Rostek, Norton, KS
  • Rev. William Sabol, Winnebago, MN
  • Rev. Douglas Stowe, Hartford, WI
  • Rev. Martin Strohschein, Phoenix, AZ
  • Rev. Jonathan Watt, Truman, MN
  • Rev. C. Bryan Wolfmueller, Aurora, CO

Per the District checklist, this list of candidates is published to the entire communicant membership. If any communicant member in good standing has a valid objection to any of these candidates, file that objection in writing with the committee chair, Jeff Pettijohn, by Sunday, December 10. (Note:  A valid objection is one according to which a person cannot in good conscience or on moral grounds accept the man in question as his or her pastor.)  We will keep you updated as we progress.  The next committee meeting is Thursday, November 30, when we begin the review of how candidates align with the self-study results. Please keep the committee, the congregation and school, and the candidates in your prayers.